July 16, 2024



The Taka (, sign: or Tk, code: BDT) is the currency of Bangladesh. Its central bank, the Bangladesh Bank, controls the issuance of the currency except for the 1 and 2 notes, which are the responsibility of the Ministry of Finance of the government of Bangladesh. The most commonly used symbol for the Taka is Tk and , used on receipts while purchasing goods and services. 1 is subdivided into 100 poisha. In Bengali, the word “taka” is also commonly used generically to mean any money, currency, or notes. Thus, colloquially, a person speaking Bengali may use “taka” to refer to money regardless of what currency it is denominated in. This in common in the Indian state of West Bengal, where prices may be given in “taka” despite the Indian currency being known as the “rupee”. The currency sign is encoded in Unicode at .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *